H.P. Lovecraft Literary Podcast Forums
September 20, 2017, 02:16:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you encounter any unknowable eldritch forum problems, shoot Manndroid a missive at mmann(at)modsprocket(dot)com!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Episode 38 - The Horror at Red Hook  (Read 11543 times)
Chris Lackey
Great Old One
Mind-Blasted

View Profile WWW Email
« on: April 22, 2010, 05:00:29 AM »

A crappy story. If you synopsize the story, it actually sounds like it would be pretty cool. Just not well written.
Brother Voodoo
Blissfully Ignorant

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 01:39:44 PM »

Agreed. I think it's stories like this that helped foster the negative views of Lovercraft's other work.
It's hard to sell the guy as a legit and talented writer when he pens such obviously amatuerish
stuff as Red Hook. I tend to view Lovecraft like a lot of self-taught, and highly succesful comic
artists I know. They can really crank out some great stuff, but because they didn't receive any
formal instruction, they sometimes lack fundamentals and it peaks out now and again in their work.
Lovecraft might have made it into mainstream literary acceptence sooner, rather than later, if
he had cleaned up some of his work. We may never know. But at least he made it, and we can
read the works we enjoy, and leave those less noteworthy to the pile of literary mediocrity and
erstwhile Literary podcast critics. Wink
Q

"...any man who touches me will quickly be greeting his ancestors in hell!" - Conan the Cimmerian
ryantherebel
Blissfully Ignorant

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 02:23:29 PM »

It might be Lovecraft's weakest story. I had no idea what was going on a quarter of the time.
fishy
Unhinged

Esoteric Order of Dagon: Norwegian Chapter

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 02:33:31 PM »